FIFA “The Best” Trophy | Kylian Mbappé and Lionel Messi in the running for the title of the best player

(Zurich) After facing off in the World Cup finals, Argentinian Lionel Messi and Frenchman Kylian Mbappé are set to compete for the FIFA “The Best” Trophy, awarded to the best player of the year 2022, with the list of candidates announced on Thursday .

Neymar, from Paris Saint-Germain, is also among the nominees like Ballon d’Or Karim Benzema, the Norwegian prodigy Erling Haaland or the Croatian Luka Modric. The result will be displayed on February 27.

Among the women, the Spanish double Golden Ball Alexia Putellas, the Englishwoman Beath Mead or the Australian Sam Kerr.

For the best coach trophy, World Cup finalists Didier Deschamps (France) and Lionel Scaloni (Argentina) will face Pep Guardiola (Manchester City), the winner of the Champions League with Real Madrid, Carlo Ancelotti and Morocco coach Walid Regragui, fourth in the World Cup and winner of the African Champions League with Wydad Casablanca.

The International Federation also rewards the best coach, the best goalkeeper and the best goalkeeper, and also plans a fan trophy and the Puskas award for the goal of the year, which could go to Kylian Mbappé for his volley in the world final, or the heel of English Alessia Russo in the Euro semi-finals.

Soccer fans can vote online until February 3 at 5:59 pm (Eastern Time). In early February 2023, FIFA will announce the three finalists in each category.

List of nominees in alphabetical order


  • Aitana Bonmatí (Spain – FC Barcelona)
  • Debinha (Brazil – North Carolina Courage)
  • Jessie Fleming (Canada-Chelsea)
  • Ada Hegerberg (Norway – Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Sam Kerr (Australia – Chelsea)
  • Beth Mead (England – Arsenal)
  • Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands – Arsenal)
  • Alex Morgan (USA – Orlando Pride and San Diego Wave)
  • Lena Oberdorf (Germany – Wolfsburg)
  • Alexandra Popp (Germany – Wolfsburg)
  • Alexia Putellas (Spain – FC Barcelona)
  • Wendie Renard (France – Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Keira Walsh (England – Manchester City and FC Barcelona)
  • Leah Williamson (England – Arsenal)


  • Julián Álvarez (Argentina – River Plate and Manchester City)
  • Jude Bellingham (England – Borussia Dortmund)
  • Karim Benzema (France – Real Madrid)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium – Manchester City)
  • Erling Haaland (Norway – Borussia Dortmund and Manchester City)
  • Achraf Hakimi (Morocco – Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Poland – FC Bayern Munich and FC Barcelona)
  • Sadio Mané (Senegal – Liverpool and Bayern Munich)
  • Kylian Mbappé (France – Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Lionel Messi (Argentina – Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Luka Modric (Croatia – Real Madrid)
  • Neymar (Brazil – Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt – Liverpool)
  • Vinicius Junior (Brazil – Real Madrid)


  • Sonia Bompastor (France – Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Emma Hayes (England – Chelsea)
  • Bev Priestman (England – Canada)
  • Pia Sundhage (Sweden – Brazil)
  • Martina Voss-Tecklenburg (Germany – Germany)
  • Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands – England and Netherlands)


  • Carlo Ancelotti (Italy – Real Madrid)
  • Didier Deschamps (France – France)
  • Pep Guardiola (Spain – Manchester City)
  • Walid Regragui (Morocco – Wydad Casablanca and Morocco)
  • Lionel Scaloni (Argentina – Argentina)


  • Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany – Chelsea)
  • Mary Earps (England – Manchester United)
  • Christiane Endler (Chile – Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Merle Frohms (Germany – Eintracht Frankfurt and Wolfsburg)
  • Alyssa Naeher (USA – Chicago Red Stars)
  • Sandra Paños García-Villamil (Spain – FC Barcelona)


  • Alisson Becker (Brazil – Liverpool)
  • Yassine Bounou (Morocco – Sevilla FC)
  • Thibaut Courtois (Belgium – Real Madrid)
  • Ederson (Brazil – Manchester City)
  • Emiliano Martinez (Argentina – Aston Villa)

Puskás Award for Best Goal

  • Mario Balotelli (Italy): Adana Demirspor – Göztepe Izmir (May 22, 2022)
  • Amandine Henry (France): FC Barcelona – Olympique Lyonnais (May 21, 2022)
  • Théo Hernández (France): AC Milan – Atalanta Bergamo (May 15, 2022)
  • Alou Kuol (Australia): Iraq – Australia U23 (June 4, 2022)
  • Kylian Mbappé (France): Argentina – France (December 18, 2022)
  • Francisco González Metilli (Argentina): Central Córdoba – Rosario Central (1eh August 2022)
  • Marcin Oleksy (Poland): Warta Poznań – Stal Rzeszów (November 6, 2022)
  • Salma Paralluelo (Spain): FC Barcelona – Villarreal (April 2, 2022)
  • Dimitri Payet (France): Olympique de Marseille – PAOK Thessaloniki (April 7, 2022)
  • Richarlison (Brazil): Brazil – Serbia (November 24, 2022)
  • Alessia Russo (England): England – Sweden (July 26, 2022)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *