EWC 2023 – Endurance World Championship

2023 World Championship schedule

For the 2023 season, there is no change compared to 2022. Therefore, the season will include 3 24-hour endurance races and the traditional 8-hour Suzuka. For the Superstock category, only the 3 24-hour races count for their championship, which therefore excludes Suzuka.

The allocation of points remains the same with a coeff of 1.5 for the final event of the championship, the Bol in this case. For 24-hour races, there is also an allocation of intermediate points to the first 10 in the 8th and 16th hours of the race.

24 HOURS MOTORCYCLES, Circuit Bugatti, Le Mans (France), 13-16 April

After two years without spectators due to Covid-19 restrictions, thousands returned for the 45th edition in April 2022. They witnessed an exciting race that saw Gregg Black, Sylvain Guintoli and Xavier Siméon who imposed the method of their Suzuki Yoshimura SERT Motul installed at Le Mans.

The ACO organized its first motorcycle race in September 1912 before the birth of the Bugatti circuit which was inaugurated in September 1966 with an initial layout of 4.422 km. The first motorcycle endurance race, “the 1000 km”, was contested in Bugatti in September 1969. The Bugatti route has changed with the times. The current 4.185 km track is in use since 2008.

Previous winners

2022: Yoshimura SERT Motul (Gregg Black, Xavier Siméon, Sylvain Guintoli) 840 laps
2021: Yoshimura SERT Motul (Gregg Black, Xavier Siméon, Sylvain Guintoli) 855 laps
2020: FCC TSR Honda France (Josh Hook, Freddy Foray, Mike De Meglio) 816 laps
2019: Team SRC Kawasaki France (Jérémy Guarnoni, David Checa, Erwan Nigon) 839 laps
2018: FCC TSR Honda France (Josh Hook, Freddy Foray, Alan Techer) 843 laps

24H SPA EWC MOTOS, Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps (Belgium), June 16-18

This legendary and challenging circuit once again hosted an international-level motorcycle race for the first time since 2001 when the 24H SPA EWC Motos revived the spirit of the 24 Hours of Liège, a former mainstay of the EWC calendar, in June 2022. The iconic track has undergone major safety upgrades, mandated by the FIM and FMB, specifically for the return of the EWC. The 6.985 kilometer route – the longest ever – features expanded clearance zones, repositioned safety barriers, and Turn 9 has been redesigned for motorcycle use only. Last year, the Belgium-based BMW Motorrad World Endurance Team finished first in a race-scarred race.

2022: BMW Motorrad World Endurance Team (Markus Reiterberger, Illya Mykhalchyk, Jérémy Guarnoni) 508 laps

SUZUKA 8 HOURS ENDURANCE RACE, Suzuka Circuit (Japan), August 4-6

Operated by Honda-owned Mobilityland, the Suzuka Circuit offers a unique figure-of-eight layout over 5.821 km and a huge challenge due to its various corners, while the summer date of the Suzuka 8 Hours brings hot and humid conditions as well as crowded grandstands. Originally opened as a Honda test track in 1962, the site hosted the first edition of the Suzuka 8 Hours in 1978. The Suzuka 8 Hours is the motorcycle endurance event that attracts most MotoGP riders. Mike Baldwin wins 1timeediting with Wes Cooley. Other winners of the 8 Hours of Suzuka include: Graeme Crosby (1980), Hervé Moineau (1983), Wayne Gardner (1985,86, 91 and 92), Dominique Sarron (1989), Kevin Magee (1988), Wayne Rainey ( 1988 ), Eddie Lawson (1990), Mick Doohan (1991), Daryl Beattie (1992), Scott Russell (1993), Tadayuki Okada (1995), Noriyuki Haga (1996), Shinichi Ito (1997,1998, 2006 and 2011 ) and Valentino Rossi (2001). Dajiro Kato, who won in 2000, was the last Grand Prix rider to win in 2002. In 2015, MotoGP riders won with Katsuyuki Nakasuga, Pol Espargaro and Bradley Smith (Yamaha Factory). In 2018, the Yamaha Factory Racing Team won 4 of themeoutright win at the Suzuka 8 Hours.

This daily end-of-night event has become a popular fixture on the EWC schedule and a major fixture on the international calendar. In 2020 and 2021, the Suzuka 8 Hours were canceled due to the global health crisis. Team HRC succeeded in 2022.

2022: Team HRC (Tetsuta Nagashima, Takumi Takahashi, Iker Lecuona) 214 lapses

BOL D’OR, Circuit Paul Ricard (France), September 14-17

Tony Zind won the first Bol d’Or solo on a five kilometer dirt track near Paris in 1922. In the 100th anniversary edition in 2022, Florian Alt, Erwan Nigon and Steven Odendaal on Yamaha, joined forces to win the Circuit Paul Ricard , 5.673 km long. Since the first edition, seven sites have been the scene of the race: road routes when it was created in 1922, then the circuit at Montlhéry, Le Mans, Paul Ricard and Nevers Magny-Cours before returning in 2015 to Le Castellet on Paul Ricard . The 2020 edition of the Bol d’Or has been postponed to 2021 due to the global health crisis.

Circuit Paul Ricard hosted its first Bol d’Or in 1979 and the 2023 event, the final EWC season, celebrated 100 years of the most famous of motorcycle endurance races. This is also the 30th edition on this route. Over a kilometer long, the Mistral straight turned the race into an exciting battle of attrition. The official Ducati that almost won last year…

The previous winners

2022: Viltaïs Racing Igol (Florian Alt, Erwan Nigon, Steven Odendaal) 718 laps
2021: Yoshimura SERT Motul (Gregg Black, Xavier Siméon, Sylvani Guintoli) 704 laps
2019: Suzuki Endurance Racing Team (Vincent Philippe, Etienne Masson, Gregg Black) 313 laps
2018: FCC TSR Honda France (Freddy Foray, Josh Hook, Mike Di Meglio) 698 laps
2017: GMT94 Yamaha (David Checa, Niccolò Canepa, Mike Di Meglio) 683 laps

The archives of the EWC Motorcycle Endurance World Championship


Suzuki in 2015 and 2016, 2020 and 2021, Yamaha in 2017, Honda in 2018 and 2022 and Kawasaki in 2019, in short all the Japanese brands are now competing for the title and it provides a very lively and exciting race with arrival slots. very tight and sometimes less than a second!

All races of the 2022 championship

All races of the 2021 championship

All races of the 2020 championship

All races of the 2019 championship

All races of the 2018 Championship

2017 Championship

2016 Championship

2015 Championship

2014 Championship

2013 Championship

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *