all records of the biggest league in the world!

The new NBA season begins this Tuesday, October 18, with 30 teams ready to fight to lift the Larry O’Brien trophy in June 2023. Today, an overview of the NBA records that make this league legendary. Can the Boston Celtics win 18th title to their story? Will Stephen Curry get 5th career title? A look back at NBA honors and records.

NBA awards: Celtics ahead of Lakers?

This is the greatest rivalry in American sport that exists between Los Angeles Lakers and the Boston Celtics. With 17 NBA titles for 2 franchises, these teams have gone through the ages to leave their mark on League history. With emblematic players made legends by their teams (Bill Russel, Magic Johnson, Larry Bird, Kareem Abdul Jabbar, KCJones, Shaquille O’Neal, John Havlicek or Kobe Bryant), these 2 franchises dominate this classification . In the last place of the podium, the Golden State Warriors, with 7 titles on the clock, has made an amazing leap in recent years by winning at least four trophies since 2015 in the wake of Stephen Curry and Klay Thompson. What now should come first? Chicago Bulls who, of their 6 titles won between 1991 and 1998, are in 4th square.

17 titles Los Angeles Lakers (1949, 1950, 1952, 1953, 1954, 1972, 1980, 1982, 1985, 1987, 1988, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2010, 20209, 2020)

17 titles Boston Celtics (1957, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1968, 1969, 1974, 1976, 1981, 1984, 2008)

7 titles : Golden State Warriors (1947, 1956, 1975, 2015, 2017, 2018, 2022)

6 titles : Chicago Bulls (1991, 1992, 1993, 1996, 1997, 1998)

5 titles : San Antonio Spurs (1999, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2014)

Number of career titles: Bill Russell and the Celtics in the 1960s at the top of the NBA chart

In the ranking of the most successful players, the Boston Celtics generation, which dominated the NBA like never before in the 1960s, monopolizes the top of the NBA chart. Topping 11 career titles, the latter Bill Russell. Since leaving us last summer, the Celtics legend has worked hard on and off the basketball court. A defensive pivot, he is a deterrent like the NBA has rarely seen in its history. The clear dominance of the Celtics during this period is summed up in the NBA list with 6 players at the top. We found it there Sam Jones, Tom Heinsohn, KCJones, Tom Sanders and John Havlicek. The latter, however, won two other titles, again with Boston, in 1974 and 1976. To find traces of a player other than Massachusetts, one must turn to Robert Horrywhich, titled with 3 different teams (Houston Rockets, Los Angeles Lakers and the San Antonio Spurs), interferes with this ranking.

  • Bill Russel- 11 titles
  • Sam Jones- 10 titles
  • Tom Heinsohn, KC Jones, Tom Sanders and John Havlicek – 8 titles
  • Frank Ramsey and Robert Horry – 7 titles
  • Bob Cousy, Jim Loscutoff, Kareem Abdul Jabbar, Michael Jordan and Scottie Pippen – 6 titles

Kareem Abdul Jabbar, 6-time MVP

The MVP (Most Valuable Player) trophy is the most coveted individual award in the NBA. Awarded to the best player of the regular season, its winner goes down in legend by earning this distinction. Therefore, it is necessary to show regularity during the 6 months of the competition, and in this game, Kareem Abdul Jabbar is an expert at it. First with the Milwaukee Bucks and then the Los Angeles Lakers, the pivot put all defenses at his mercy with his hook shot. Unstoppable, Lew Alcindor by his real name, was named MVP of the season 6 times and dominates this NBA chart. Behind, two other legends follow him closely, Bill Russell and Michael Jordan. If the Celtics center was the leader of the Celtics in the 1960s, MJ for his part brought basketball to another dimension. Sacred 5 times, they can get more! Finally, there are 4 titles each, Wilt Chamberlain and lebron james is not far away and also marked the history of the NBA.

Kareem Abdul Jabbar – 6 MVP titles (1971, 1972, 1974, 1976, 1977, 1980)

Bill Russell- 5 MVP titles (1958, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1965)

Michael Jordan- 5 MVP titles (1988, 1991, 1992, 1996, 1998)

Wilt Chamberlain- 4 MVP titles (1960, 1966, 1967, 1968)

lebron james- 4 MVP titles (2009, 2010, 2012, 2013)

Larry Bird- 3 MVP titles (1984, 1985, 1986)

Magic Johnson- 3 MVP titles (1987, 1989, 1990)

Moses Malone – 3 MVP titles (1979, 1982, 1983)

NBA Finals MVP, Michael Jordan and others

If a trophy could prove a player’s dominance in the most important moment of the season, that of the finals MVP (Bill Russel trophy of his name) is the best image. Finding yourself in the final, with all the spotlights, can be overwhelming for many people, but not everyone. And Michael Jordan is simply the best example. With 6 NBA Finals in his career, 6 wins and 6 MVP titles, his greatness is hard to beat. MJ dominates this NBA list like no other. Behind, we see the King, lebron james, with 4 trophies collected with 3 different teams (Miami Heat, Cleveland Cavaliers and Los Angeles Lakers) is in GOAT status. On the podium, 3 players share this place, ie Magic Johnson, Tim Duncan and Shaquille O’Neal.

Michael Jordan: 6 titles (1991, 1992, 1993, 1996, 1997, 1998)

LeBron James: 4 titles (2012, 2013, 2016, 2020)

Magic Johnson: 3 titles (1980, 1982, 1987)

Tim Duncan: 3 titles (1999, 2003, 2005)

Shaquille O’Neal: 3 titles (2000, 2001, 2002)

NBA palms: single game records

Individual performances in a match remain etched in the record books for years or even decades! If some seem out of reach, others may fall one day:

Single game score records

  • Wilt Chamberlain (Philadelphia) – 100 pointsMarch 2, 1962

Record rebounds in a game

  • Wilt Chamberlain (Philadelphia) – 55 rbdsNovember 24, 1960

Most assists in a game

  • Scott Skiles (Orlando) – 30 passesDecember 30, 1990

Most steal in a game

  • Larry Kenon (Spurs) and Kendall Gill (Nets) – 11 inches

Records of blocks in a game

  • Elmore Smith (Lakers) – 17 ctsOctober 28, 1973

Most 3-point shots in a game

  • Klay Thompson (Warriors) – 14October 29, 2018

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *